What are the advantages/disadvantages to having one language in the world?

As far as we know, speaking the same language has been one of the common ideas since before the Common era. This essay will demonstrate how it would be convenient because of the lack of misunderstandings and the necessity of learning foreign languages but it will also show the drawbacks of using one language, such as culture issue or unemployment.

On the one hand, not only would it be just comfortable for everyday life but it also would be extremely important in politics and international relationships. Every language has its own nuances in phonetics or vocabulary, in Chinese the tone can definitely change people’s understanding of your words and can lead to various problems. Moreover, many children and adults spend hundreds of hours and huge amounts of money to learn foreign languages nowadays. It’s an issue that the lack of multiple languages can solve. For instance, Esperanto is extremely easy to master. If a person started to learn it, he or she would need about 150 hours to study.

On the other hand, not only has every languages nuances in phonetic or vocabulary but it also represents culture. Every of them has its own history, traditions and even the characters of its speakers. For example, Chineses or Germans are three times more likely to save money than Russians or British, scientists explain this as one of the consequences of lacking future tenses in these languages. Additionally, many people would lose their jobs or hobbies, and it would lead to high level of unemployment in the whole world. According to British scientists 36% of translators were replaced by artificial intelligence, if we had only one language 100% of them would be unnecessary at all.

In conclusion, although one language would be much more convenient for politics and everyday usage, every of them has its own culture and specialists who couldn’t be replaced due to economical factors.