What are the advantages/disadvantages to having one language in the world?

Nowadays, English is the most widely spoken language in the world. Some people believe that it is good that English is the only language used by the whole earth. However, some people take the opinion that we should not forget that using the same language all over the world can have some drawbacks. In this essay, I will explain the advantages and disadvantages of having only one language spoken throughout the world.

Firstly, speaking just one language around the world has many benefits. Due to this, people in different countries can easily understand each other. Also, they will not have difficulties in communicating. They can do not worry about problems in travelling. Furthermore, currently, many educational and work opportunities abroad are in the English language. It can be easily learned by people in other countries. They can work in any place, knowing only the English language.

However, using the same language all over the world can have consequences. As an illustration, it can strongly affect one’s own culture. In other words, they can forget their own traditions and languages. Additionally, people might not correctly understand each other. Because of this, as a result, they can have problems.

In conclusion, the advantages of having English as the globally spoken language outweigh the drawbacks. Because this will make communication easier.