What are the benefits and drawbacks of long vacation for students?

It is known that in order to make sufficient study progress, it is necessary to take enough time to relax between the terms. The vacation time may differ among the countries. While extended breaks can be beneficial in several ways, there are also strong arguments for shortening school holidays. This essay will discuss both perspectives.

One of the main advantages of long school holidays is that they provide students with such needed rest. During the school year students often face constant pressure of difficult tests, homeworks and projects. A long break allows them to recover both mentally and physically. Such approach helps students become more emotionally resistant and improve concentration when school resumes. Additionally, the students have more opportunities to spend time with their families.

On the other hand there are substantial reasons to argue for shorter school holidays. The major concern is the loss of learning skills. A lot of students shared that after long breaks it was harder to get involved in the learning process. So the students have to spend significant amount of time to review the studied material from the previous education period. As they say: “Strike while the irone is hot.” Besides that, a much longer time is spent on obtaining a degree and that is a waste of time.

In conclusion, long school holidays are beneficial in terms of necessary recreation and building family relationships. Nevertheless, such long vacation can lead to a risk of disrupting learning process. A balanced approach, such as, slightly shorter summer holidays with additional breaks over the year may be the best effective solution.