What are the pros and cons for children of watching television?

In recent years watching TV has become one of the favourite leisure time activity for children. There is an argument that whether spending too much time in front of screen brings advantages to kids or not .

To begin with, the most accepted fact is that there are plenty of drawbacks to watching TV for the young generation. On top of them, children could have some health issues, for instance, reducing movement can cause obesity at a young age. Furthermore, driven by the epidemic of violence on the screen, children could be adversely influenced by what they see every day. This is due to the fact that children and adolescents, in general, tend to imitate what they witness at early ages even if it costs pursuing aggressive behaviours.

On the other hand, watching television could be beneficial in certain aspects. By watching various programs on TV children can get more knowledge in different types of subjects and this is a more interesting way to learn something rather than learning things from boring materials or books for children. Additionally, by watching television children can learn more about different countries and their cultures and it may help them in their future studies and careers by knowing what might face themselves.

In conclusion, there are both advantages and disadvantages at the same time. Due to a massive number of informative TV shows, it could be quite beneficial provided parents take responsibility for supervising children

watching otherwise it can lead to dire consequences such as health issues and expressing misbehaviours.