What are the roles of communicative language teaching in EFL classroom?

Language teaching has been emerging for years, and it has spread out around the world. Due to a lot of demands from people around the world, experts have been trying to create ways to teach the language (English). One of the approaches being described is CLT, also known as communicative language teaching. CLT was found in 1950 by a few scholars, and it has been playing a crucial role in language teaching. It is a method that allows learners to get exposed to real-world context. Moreover, communicative language teaching is an approach that assists learners in building their self-confidence.

By adapting communicative language teaching into the classrooms, teachers prepare students for communicative activities so that learners get exposed to many forms of language compared to the traditional methods. Learners are motivated to use their existing knowledge of language to produce meaningful communication without paying much attention to accuracy. Furthermore, the principles of communicative language teaching allow students to practice the language in a real context, called an authentic learning environment.

Moreover, when participating in the tasks, students get adequate language practice in the real world. By doing so regularly, they tend to strengthen their ability to communicate as well as their self-esteem. Self-confidence plays a significant role in daily life. Without enough confidence, even though you know the language well, it is difficult to produce the desired outcomes. So CLT is a key method to use in building learners’ confidence.

All in all, communicative language teaching has played a key role in language teaching, promoting meaningful communication and allowing learners to strengthen their self-confidence. Educators, teachers, principals, and management in the education sector should consider adapting CLT to their institutions.