When a country develops its technology, the traditional skills and ways of life die out. It is pointless to try and keep them alive. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

One of the biggest challenges we face today is how to keep the traditional styles when everything is becoming digitalized. Today, the public generally agrees with the idea that it is meaningless to maintain the tradition because they believe it would eventually vanish. However, I strongly object to this notion because future technology requires past styles, and people desire their indigenousness.

To begin with, today’s technology all came from the historical ways of life. All technologies were developed gradually from the traditional way, and if we forget our historical process, there will be no tomorrow technology. For example, television did not just pop out, before television, there was a camera to take a photo, a camcorder to record a video, and an audio for a sound. Every technology had steps to become today’s technology. Therefore, it is mandatory to keep our old styles to get to the next level.

Secondly, the public loves diversity and uniqueness. Human has an instinct to be attracted to their indigenousness, and there are people who are enthusiastic about old things. People like this tend to preserve classical styles. For instance, we are still keeping museums to remember our traditions, and people still look for them. According to Korea University research, 15% of museum visitors increased compared to five years before. As long as the public looks for it, it is not meaningless to maintain. However, neglecting our traditional styles would eventually make our old unique styles forgotten, and it will lose our characteristics, which are critical to our diversities. Thus, it is worth preserving our classical ways.

In conclusion, although a number of people believe it is pointless to work hard to maintain tradition, I believe it has meaningful value because tradition is needed to go for the next phase, and the public searches for old styles.