When a new town is planned, it is more important to develop public parks and sports facilities than shopping centers for people to spend their free time in. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, there has been an ongoing debate about the orientation of building a new town with some people argued that it is crucial to develop parks and sports facilities other than shopping malls.

On one hand, it is true that the construction of public parks can encourage people to enjoy more outdoor activities. For example, individuals might go cycling, walking and running in the parks which not only help them to unwind, but also improve people’s physical strengths. Additionally, if there are sport centres, citizens would have access to various sports and do not have to spend a lot of time to travel from one place to another just to try a new physical activity. This development also incentives people to do more exercise to enhance their health conditions.

On the other hand, the disadvantages might outweights the benefits if there are only these two innovation. Meanwhile both parks and sport centres are necessary in term of encouraging healthy lifestyles, not everyone would like to spend their spare time on doing physical activites as they might have other hobbies. Without shopping centres, citizens might have limited place to purchase foods and beverages. Moreover, with no shopping malls, buying sport equipments might be more inconvenient and cost more time. Even if online shopping is avaliable, customers still need to wait for 3 to 4 days to get their items. In addition, the investment in public parks means that there are less money to spend on improving other problems. For instance, the town should consider the construction of new roads to reduce traffic jams and crowded during rush hours. As people cannot go home because of the traffic, they seem to have less leisure time for other pursuits.

To sum up, although develop public places and sport centres can aid individuals to stay healthy, it is important to note the crucial of shopping centres in everyday life. Therefore, the planning of a new town might include all facilities which benefit the citizens.