When international media (including movies, fashion shows, advertisements and other TV programs) convey the same messages to the global audience, people argue that the expansion of international media has negative impacts on cultural diversity. What is your opinion?

Many people believe that the rise of mass media will threaten the state of cultural variety since it threatens the existence of linear lifestyles and further immerses people in mainstream ones. However, the argument dismisses the potential of media to promote linear communities and bring a sense of communal between communities.

The first important role of emerging media is to brought together people from various backgrounds. The same means of entertainment and news heightens a sense of belonging among distinct groups by offering the same experience for them. Because of this, newcomers find it easier to assimilate into an alien group. The global medium also promotes brands and products worldwide; therefore, businesses from around the globe can enjoy the same promotions. One prime example is the widespread of K-pop, which capitalizes on the internet means to promote its music productions. It is so successful that people from other places also be able to enjoy and endorse Korean music.

The other role that international news play is in the preservation and promotion of linear communities and many cultures which are on the verge of extinction. Contrary to popular belief, the popularity of movies, films, and other local programs in the international level does not overshadow other beliefs, but it makes every components of the global culture hub distinguished when featured. People from high and low are introduced to other places, people, and lifestyles, which helps them to collaborate and respect different beliefs. Moreover, ethnic groups do not have to bear the brunt of the globalisation. The media has benefited minority groups in many ways. The revival of languages which are on the brink of disappearing such as Maori and Welsh is two in many significant achievements by global dedication.

In conclusion, the mass media has provide many benefits such as giving rise to a world embracing different communities and supporting the minority groups on a global stance.