When international media (including movies, fashion shows, advertisements and other TV programs) convey the same messages to the global audience, people argue that the expansion of international media has negative impacts on cultural diversity. What is your opinion?

Many individuals believe that due to the advancement of electronic media around the globe, the channels of communication such as TV commercials, reality shows, and entertainment industry have undergone a massive transformation as a result of which viewers receive similar kind of messaging which ultimately promote the people and country of its origin. It is pertinent to mention that this trend is highly discouraged by few individuals, whereas I believe that the availability of coherence and consistency in social media have numerous benefits for the society because it boost economic activity and ethical practices.

It is clear that with the introduction of internet and social media platforms such as Youtube and other online streaming website, the method of displaying culture and lifestyle has become easy with greater reach in the audience at a nominal cost. Furthermore, it is crucial to highlight that 21st century is considered to be a boarder-less community because of the presence of online communication tools as viewers in South Asia can easily view the fashion shows as well as the advertisements of any European brands while sitting at their dining table. For instance, according to a survey which was conducted in South Asian clothing market, economists found that many Asians have started to adapt the clothing style and fashion sense of western culture which has greatly increased the demand of western brands. Not only that this activity has been capitalized by importers as a result of which South Asian garment industry has seen huge inflow of european items.

Moreover, the role of entertainment industry in communicating the native values, customs and traditions cannot be ignored as movie directors and producers always attempt to illustrate the actual cultural practices consequently targeted audience has developed sense of understanding and mutual respect for others spiritual beliefs and social norms. For example, many researches have reported that before the advent of electronic media, masses were living is silos, where they were reluctant to show acceptability for other religions. However, in the post internet era, almost every individual learned about others values as well as has recognized the individual differences which ultimately foster global peace.

To conclude, the responsibility of international media in circulating synchronized messaging cannot be ignored as they are beneficial for the society in economic and ethical ways