When it comes to architectural design, some argue that functionality should be more important than aesthetics. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Buildings are highly regarded for their exterior appearances. It has been argued that the intended use should be the preference when designing architects over its aesthetics. From my perspective, I agree and think that the outward appearance should not compromise its building architecture.

When designing a building, the purpose of the building should be the top priority for architects. For instance, when designing a hospital, the easiest route for a patient to get to the emergency room should be considered, and there should be enough space in the lobby to get to the outpatient ward. If the specific rooms for a hospital are not designed correctly, they can create discomfort for patients, and in some cases, they can even lead to the death of a patient. Therefore, the purpose of a building should be a top priority for designers.

Furthermore, safety concerns might arise if the building model is altered for external presentation. Architects should carefully consider the fire safety department’s regulations while designing a building’s egress locations. A prime example is the recent fire incident that happened as a result of the builder’s carelessness in replacing fire exits with a fountain design in an attempt to improve the building’s appearance. In addition to costing the building owner money, this catastrophe ended up being the reason for several fatalities. As a result, the building’s goal should be the designers’ first concern, and government inspectors should visit the structure to ensure that it is secure for occupants.

In conclusion, neglecting to design a structure with its intended use in mind rather than only its exterior may make its occupants uncomfortable and occasionally even raise safety issues.