There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work.

Succeeding academically is viewed by most people as the top priority for school students, to the point that many argue that extracurricular subjects must not be included in the school syllabus.

Today’s students are constantly pressured to do well in school. Parents force their children to spend most of their time studying in order to improve their test scores. The reason they do so is because high grades in school, especially in subjects like maths and science, will help their children get accepted into reputed universities, which in turn would improve their qualifications to be offered a decent job and have a fruitful life. However, when it comes to the removal of non-academic subjects, I hold a different perspective.

What many fail to realise is that although these subjects do not hold much value academically, they are extremely valuable to students in numerous ways. Subjects such as cookery, enable students to be more independent as they will be able to cook and feed themselves – a skill that many adults lack. In addition to providing valuable life skills, other classes such as physical education, pottery and sewing, are considered by most students as an escape from academic stress. Moreover, such subjects encourage the pursuation of various new hobbies.

Such subjects must not be viewed as ‘a waste of time’. I acknowledge that academics are important for a stable career, however to live everyday life as a human being, the skills and peace of mind that one aquires through extracurriculars are inevitable. In conclusion, I strongly believe a balance must be maintained between the two so that students may grow up to be successful and self reliant adults.