SOME PEOPLE THINK THAT SOCIAL MEDIA HAS MORE NEGATIVE EFFECTS THAN POSITIVE ONES. AGREE OR DISAGREE?

It is believed that the public gains more negative influences rather than the good ones through social media. Although social platforms have some drawbacks such as spread of misinformation, I believe that social media has more beneficial usages.

Admittedly, social media can be one of the main reasons for spreading false information. The reason is that there are so many influencers in the world as well as people who are eager to follow them. They usually make contents that are actually not real in order to gain the community’s attention. As a result many people tend to believe in false information, and once they find out the truth they would most likely start not to believe even the truths. To illustrate, in 2012, there was a popular view among the people that they thought the world was coming to its end. The reason was that the Mayan people’s calendar was until that year. That’s why many people thought this was true and found that they were wrong. Although social media has its negative sides, I opine that they could be used for the better.

Social media can be the source of help for many situations. The reason is that, nowadays, many people have problems with their devices or with their daily life chores. And they may not be able to find solutions for them on their own. So, they could only open the app and ask for help online. Consequently, many people who have experiences with the problems may be able to assist the ones who are in need. In addition, when people are financially unstable or maybe are looking for work, they could just upload their resume to social media and the companies will contact them. To illustrate, there is an app called LinkedIn. This platform is well-known since many unemployed people could simply just post their CVs, and the companies which are looking for the employees can find their information that could ask them to work for their companies. While there are drawbacks of using social media, I believe that its benefits are more.

In conclusion, It is assumed that social media is being used that is making negative impacts. I assume that while social media has negative usages, I believe that it can be used in more useful ways.