When we meet someone for the first time, we generally decide very quickly what kind of person we think they are and if we like them or not. Is this a good thing or a bad thing?

It is argued that we have quick prejudgement about the people met for the first time. We immediately make a decision about their personality type at first glance. This essay will discuss pros and cons of this argument as well as present my viewpoint on whether it is a positive recation or not.

On the one hand, a potential benefit of prejudgement may be that it makes subsequence decisions easier. For example, if someone looked trustable, we would spend a less mental activity to evaluate their real characteristics. Most people are willing to follow this strategy because less energy consuming and their lazy tendencies.

On the other hand, a primary drawback is that when we determine a negative or positive overview about the person we meet for the first time, changing the image of this person on our brain would be impossible if we made a mistake in our initial evaluation. For example, some people may have beautiful face which makes trusting them more easier whereas, they may be inappropriate people and cause serious disturbance to others. A further negative is that we may consider less appealing people as unreliable ones. Overall, it would be a good idea to assess people’s types after a longer communication and evaluation of all aspects of their charactaristics.

On balance, although prejudgement of unanymous people seems advantageous due to the less need to invistigations and mental efforts, I believe its disadvantages in terms of trusting to handsome people and ingnoring less attractive ones overweigh the advantages.