When we meet someone for the first time, we generally decide very quickly what kind of person we think they are and if we like them or not. Is this a good thing or a bad thing? Give reasons for your answer and Include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

In this modern world, a large group of people tend to judge the quality and character of an individual on their initial meeting. This pre judgemental behaviour is a discouraged quality as it affects a person’s behaviour and thinking process. This essay will discuss the demerits of this action followed by a conclusion.

Firstly, general practice of deciding the qualities and characteristics of a person on their first meeting makes one to be stereotypical in nature. As it completely changes and affects the thought process of a person. Additionally, it can be a barrier to fostering relationships. The quality of being empathetic and kind towards others is determined by not having pre-defined assumptions in their mind. For example, in a recent talk show from start Vijay television channel, a father-in-law confessed that initially he disliked his son in law due to his assumptions but later when he got to know the true self, he started to like his son in law and treated him as his own son.

Secondly, by being judgemental on their first meeting makes one to be an introverted person. As an introverted person, they find it difficult to collaborate with their peers. In addition, it hinders an individual from the opportunity of learning new cultures and beliefs from other people. For example, a recent survey from the company Leadsquared has stated that, people with introverted nature struggles to have a conversation with others and often feels left out.

Therefore, judging the person on their initial meet up can affect the individual on a longer basis. As it makes the person to be more conversed in nature and makes them less empathetic.