When we meet someone for the first time, we generally decide very quickly what kind of person we think they are and if we like them or not. Is this a good thing or a bad thing? Give reasons for your answer and Include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Although our education has taught us not to judge people on the very first meet-up, we usually tend to judge people. This is type of behaviour is widespread and transcends culture, language, regions and boundaries.

To begin with, an individual usually try to guess the economic status and social background of an individual based on what kind of dress they wear and how they speak. It is reciprocal -they trying predicting each others’ qualities based on the first encounter. For instance, most of the time, an interview panel’s first impression is based on a candidates attire. What she wears during an interview matters a lot and determines what course the interview is going to take. Besides, the type of brand that she wears or owns -clothing, accessories, vehicles, so on and so forth- also has on impact whether she is being welcomed or avoided. Further, skin color, race, language and accent also have a great influence how one person sees the other. While majority of people think that it is a right approach to like or dislike a person based on first meeting, I have totally different point of view.

Firstly, as a humans we are supposed to look a person deeply. This what differentiates from the rest of the living being. The ability to think, analyse, and decide is what makes us human. Second, the approach mentioned in the previous paragraph are defined by many terms in psychology and behavioural science: Stereotyping, biases, halo-effect, horn-effect, to name a few – and definitions are mostly negative. Since we are assessing a person based on looks and first-time-experience, and love or hate them based on them, we are missing out critical things like a persons real character, deep inner qualities and value system. Lastly, this type of behaviour is the reason for proliferation of segregation, seclusion and other such social evils. The best example to name and shame the Muslims as terrorists or the Indian as being unclean.

Hence, in brief, accepting or avoiding a human based on first instance is scientifically, socially and humanely a negative thing.