When you travel to a new area, you should follow the new customs and traditions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals are of the claim that immigrants should comply with the local customs and traditions of the country they move to. From my perspective, I partly agree with this suggestion based on some major reasons that are elucidated in this essay.

On the one hand, there are some persuasive rationales that support the claim that people should be free in their lifestyles and attire no matter where they live. Firstly, when people lived in a place for a long time, they became similar to that traditional and cultural mores, leading to being difficult to adapt to new ones in their new living locations. Therefore, it is completely understandable for immigrants without following the traditions and customs due to obstacles and definitions in their minds. In addition, the traditional principles and clothes in the nation people move to seem to not be suitable for them and even disrespect their religious spirit, leading to many conflicts between personal lifestyles and the public tradition. As a result, people should live for their own lives and focus on other important tasks and jobs to stabilize in a new environment.

On the other hand, I believe that following the traditions and customs of the country where people choose to change their home for some reasons. Apparently, deciding to change their living location means that they had to deliberate and search for all traditional regulations and principles related to the attire, thus they can select the best place that is suitable for their lifestyles and habits. As a result, it is not a struggle for immigrants to change their traditional beliefs and customs to be able to live and integrate with the new society. For that reason, they should follow the traditions and customs in the local community due to the fact that they became part of the society. Furthermore, if they followed those mores and regulations, they would avoid being boycotted or insulated by the local people who respect their own cultural beliefs and values.

In conclusion, although it is understandable why people would not change their habits and lifestyles to adapt to the new environment when moving to another country, I strongly believe that it should be their responsibility to be able to immerse themselves and get along with the local community.