When you travel to a new area, you should follow the new customs and traditions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary society, the topic of following regional practices and cultural heritage has sparked considerable debate. While some believe it is necessary, proponents allege it is not. In my case, I completely agree with the latter opinion because people may build relationships and avoid conflicts with the local population.

To begin with, those who advocate for not accepting other nation’s traditions have several compelling arguments. One of them is personal choice. Immigrants have all rights whether to engage or not with local customs. If they are forced to follow them, the country doing it will lose the respect and cultural richness of newcomers. On top of that, cultural exchange may benefit both local people and visitors. They may walk a mile in each other’s shoes, thereby broadening their horizons in some fields. It is a good opportunity to foster a multicultural society.

Despite these arguments, it is essential to consider other perspectives to form a well-rounded view. Some proponents of adopting new practices argue that by doing so, individuals may build relationships. This is evident in the situation in Paris these days because athletes from all over the world come there and still participate in the Olympic Games 2024. There, nobody forces them to adhere to local customs and each nation may break the ice. This bonds everyone by creating a big family. Furthermore, some of the conflicts between people from different cultures may be avoided. Fitting in with the cultural environment can lead only to positives. For example, make people speak the same language and coexist in a harmony. It helps avoid misunderstandings and provide an increase of respect to each other’s values.

In conclusion, the debate over taking the plunge presents strong arguments on both sides. Whereas having a personal choice and exchanging cultural values have valid points, I firmly believe that building strong relationships and avoiding a tangle between people are on top of it because everyone may appreciate the host nation.