When you travel to a new area, you should follow the new customs and traditions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an ongoing debate regarding whether people should adapt to the local customs and traditions when moving abroad. I wholeheartedly align with these viewpoints

There are many underlying reasons why travelers should conform to the local norms of behaviour. Initially, newcomers may find it difficult to blend into the local society if they do not know the norms of social behaviors there. As a result, foreigners can not live in harmony with the community and may feel unwelcome when staying with local residents. Secondly, recent immigrants might break the laws and regulations of the host country if they show disrespectful behavior toward the traditions and customs of that region. For instance, in Vietnam, people have to pay for a fine or even a jail if they show contempt for the local historical buildings or some ancient temples.

Additionally, there are also many benefits when people adopt to the customs and traditions of their new country of resident. The first advantage is that the immigrants can gain a sense of ‘belonging’ with the host country. This is because the adaptation can make people feel to be a part of the society as well as not feeling lonely in new environment. Another benefit is the richness of experience which people can gain through the process of intergration with the local customs and traditions. As a result, migrant people can easily participate in the community life and avoid being social isolation.

However, it is crucial for newcomers to balance both engaging in the society and personal beliefs. Since many cultures do not appropriate with an immigrants’ beliefs and values. For example, in some countries, women have to cover their heads when moving outside.

In conclusion, I would argue that newcomers should follow the customs and traditions when moving to new community in order to integrate fully into the society. However, migrant individuals should balance between local customs and their own beliefs to successfully live in harmony with new environment.