When you travel to a new area, you should follow the new customs and traditions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

When people move to a foreign country, it is essential to honor local norms and engage actively in cultural practices. I believe that, out of respect for the country’s rich heritage, immigrants should voluntarily participate in traditional events, unless it, they contradict with one’s religious beliefs and personal principles, making genuine efforts to integrate into the community.

On the one hand, it would be morally unacceptable if newcomers alienate themselves and don’t establish friendly bonds with their neighbors. In order to avoid such an awkward situation, they need to spend more time as a part of local community, the scope of which extends more than merely introducing themselves. Taking part in traditional holidays and adapting their way of living, even if its merely on the surface, it will simplify and speed up the process of blending in, as well as fostering a welcoming environment.

On the other hand, not every custom that is locally practiced might be appropriate for you. What I mean by this is, every country is unique and have their own traditions that are simply unbreakable as they are rooted in one’s culture too deeply. In a number of occasions, the cultural norms mismatch and a person who recently moved might not be willing to celebrate a local holiday, due to religious or cultural restraints. In any of those cases, the mutual respect is held and immigrants won’t be forced to do anything in particular.

In conclusion, it is necessary to be active in the community by following local traditions, however, if it goes against their religious rules or set principles, it will be their choice to make