While mobile phones have many advantages, a number of problems have also resulted from them or the ways in which they are used. What are some of these problems? What solutions can you suggest for solving these problems?

Mobile phones have numerous advantages in today’s world. However, there are numerous problems that are caused because of the wrong ways phones are used: wasting time on unnecessary content in entertainment platforms, losing attention spans. To solve these problems, restrictions on screen times on different social media apps can be put.

One of the biggest problems is spending too much time on short entertainment videos on social media instead of doing something more beneficial, like working or studying. Wasting hours every day results in the low-performance of students in many schools, which, if done continuously for a long period of time, can affect their future career. For example, if a student is not knowledgeable enough for a certain high-ranked job, they will have no choice but to opt for other ones which they may not desire or which does not meet their financial standards. Moreover, as almost all videos are short on social media apps, most people’s attention spans are shortening day by day. To give an example, almost all students of all ages around the world are not able to focus on doing their homework or have to take occasional breaks because of losing their focus. Consequently, people will not be able to focus on long tasks like reading, creating, and even listening to a lecture. These are essential things needed for development of a person. If not addressed properly, the intelligence rates will plummet in the future.

As a solution, governments can put restraints on the screen time on most used social media platforms, with no ways of hacking the system. Essential apps like Messages, Phone and so on do not have to be limited. As a result, people will not waste time on short and purposeless videos and hours of scrolling. A yet better solution could be prohibiting purchasing mobile phones for people who are aged below sixteen. People of this age group can use push-button phones with apps that allow them to call or message, in turn. This is a long-term solution that can solve problems of low focus rates and ensure that people can continue being educated.

In conclusion, various problems, namely short attention spans and useless content consumerism, can be the results of abusing phones. For resolving, limiting time spent on social media and forbidding buying phones for people who are underage could prevent a future intelligence crisis.