Why are you a good candidate for the Lumiere Research Scholar Program? *

I believe that everyone needs external support to some degree. Over the past nine months, my understanding of this phrase has changed a lot. I used to think that everyone should cope with problems on their own, but now I realize that everyone deserves to be supported. This is especially important in a society where not everyone appreciates innovative ideas, especially those that come from students.

I say this not only about myself, but also about many other kids whom I had a chance to help in the school startup club. I’ve noticed that many people consciously limit themselves, thinking, “This won’t find support, no one needs it.” But it is the lack of such boundaries that leads to the emergence of new innovative solutions. The ability to work in a team, which I developed when I started my club, helps me still find common ground with people – and I believe this is very important in our society.

My goal is to develop an understanding among our nation’s students that you should not narrow your mind. I have the necessary skills and I can use them for the benefit of others.

Yes, I agree that every person should have competencies that make them a professional. Being able to work both alone and in a team is a valuable skill, because it teaches perseverance, which is essential in entrepreneurship. However, scaling a product often requires funding and investment so that external factors don’t get in the way of ideas.

In my opinion, the Lumiere program is one of those opportunities that help high school students change society by expanding their knowledge. And knowledge is a leading force for society as well as for each individual.