With a growing population, many people believe that we should focus on producing more GM foods. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Many people hold the view that GM foods should be produced more because of population growth. While there may be such problems as toxicity and public mistrust, GM foods has more to offer.

One strong argument in favor of benefit is the increase in nutritional value. Foods modified in a way to contain higher levels of vitamins and minerals can therefore help to maintain healthy lives. Secondly, it has a positive impact on economy growth. The more food is produced, the more income it brings. In addition to transport food easily from far places, GM food can also contribute by having prolonged shelf life.

Nevertheless, drawbacks related to GM foods production should not be overlooked. To remain profitable, GM companies prohibit independent research, claiming that GM food does not pose a danger to humans. This, in turn, may cause social mistrust regarding the safeness of altered food. Besides, it can lead to the spread of allergens. The reason is a gene that is inserted into the cells of fthe ood.

To sum up, there are significant advantages such as economic boost, good health impact and convenient delivery and there are also disadvantages as health problems and possible fallacies. Personally, I believe that pros outweigh the cons, but potential issues should be considered.