With a growing population, many people believe that we should focus on producing more GM foods. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Certain people believe due to the increasing world population, it is better to producing more GM foods. Here, “GM Foods “refers to making products in labs by altering DNA of plants and adding more vitamins and nutrition. In this essay, I will argue that genetically modified foods are more beneficial to society despite their drawbacks. To explore this idea, I will discuss the benefits of GM foods, such as increased agriculture yields, and reduced pesticides and herbicides cost as well as disadvantages such as a created issues of consumer choice.

One major benefit of genetically modified foods is the increase of crop yields in massive quantity. Originally, GM foods were created to obtain high volumes of crops without any obstacles. For example, Gloden rice produces 150000 kg per hectare, compared to 7500 kg with normal cultivation. This highlights the importance of producing more MG foods for society.

Another significant reason to produce more MG food is, that it reduces pesticides and herbicides cost of cultivation. Initially GM foods were designed to resistant pests and other diseases. For instance, a study conducted by the AMGFIN in United States found that GM foods lead to a 78% reduction in farmers’ cultivation protection cost worldwide. This further proves that GM foods have more advantages for the community.

However, relying heavily on GM foods presents certain drawbacks, such as a making issues related to consumer choice. In contemporary society, many people reject GM foods due to religion or ethical reasons worldwide. Many countries still have no strict rules or regulation to requiring the labeling of GM foods, which causes difficulties for individuals. For example, many countries in South Asia do not require GM food to be labeled, which */influences not only for foreigners but also local customers. It confirms that GM foods may harm for society.

In conclusion, I have discussed GM foods offer more advantages such as increasing crop yields, and reducing the cost of cultivation while acknowledging disadvantages such as a crating problems of customer choice. As I consider, although there are some issues, by controlling them we can enjoy only the benefits of GM foods.