With an increasing population communicating via the internet and text messaging, face to face communication will become a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree?

In recent years, most people have opted for communicating through social media, because this way is becoming the most convenient and fast way of communication in our current daily life. So, I believe that face-to-face communication brings much more benefits than internet or text messaging, and individuals never stop valuing real-life interaction.

On the one hand, the current technological advancements are encouraging everyone to prefer online communication instead of face-to-face meetings due to its convenience and speed. We know there are several advantages of online communication that can help people in some ways, which include that people can easily talk to their close people from far away, solve every issue through online communication, wherever they want without any extra cost and effort. However, young people may lose interest in face-to-face communication by wasting time interacting with the wrong people online.

No matter how advanced communication technology is, face-to-face communication is coming back into fashion. Online dating cannot provide connections, feelings, holidays, living, and enjoying the moment. These emotions are essential to being human. People have thousands of friends on Facebook and millions of followers on Instagram, but they are useless when they are unhappy. Interpersonal communication does not disappear. Because we are social creatures, it is important to connect with others. Physical presence is needed to create connections and relationships. Without connecting with others, our lives will not be efficient.

In conclusion, while the internet and texting have made it possible to do things that were previously impossible, I don’t think they will ever replace face-to-face contact because both have their areas of strength.