With the growing population of cities, more and more people live in homes that have little or no outdoor area. Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

With ever-escalating population density of metropolises, an increasing number of people are forced to reside in flats that have substantially reduced outdoor areas. In my opinion, the disadvantages of this trend outweigh any potential advantages because people in closed spaces suffer from depression and have limited space for exercise.

On the upside, people living in houses without outdoor area utilize limited time to maintain their house. As they require little time for their upkeep, small lodgings can save time that is then used for other house chores. That’s why the life of families will be easier and happier. For example, maintaining the front yard, by cutting the grass, watering plants, and cleaning, is often considered boring activity. However, I consider these advantages less significant due to the disadvantages it can bring.

On the downside, in houses with no back yard or front yard, the inhabitants suffer from anxiety and depression. It is because they have no green area inside their premises where they can relax. Consequently, they are caught up in many mental ailments and also become less inclined to perform their office duties. Moreover, they cannot make themselves fit by exercising due to the unavailability of space. This takes a toll on their physical health and they suffer from obesity and hypertension.

In conclusion, due to galloping cities’ population, houses have been transformed with diminished outdoor areas. From my perspective, the demerits of this trend are more pronounced than their merits because it makes people more apprehensive and prone to debilitating diseases.