with the help of internet and television, many people are becoming famous. Is it a positive or negative development?

An increasing number of people are using media (television and internet) to gain popularity and attract mass attraction, nowadays. I consider it a positive development because it provides an opportunity for the general public to portray their artistic work and talents. However, there are a few drawbacks to this technology that should be kept in mind.

It is granted that television and the internet have brought a lot of benefits to mankind, but their inadvertent use to grab the attention of the general public has brought forward various social issues. Many a times, to film a daunting act and upload it on the internet for appraisal and fame, people have lost their lives. For instance, I came across a recent report in which a young boy in Pakistan lay in front of a train and died in an attempt to make a video of his act and upload it on the internet. Hence, the popularity can urge immature minds to do certain acts costing their precious lives.

However, it is beyond any doubt that television and the internet are playing a remarkable role in the acknowledgement of the artistic effort of talented people. The recognition of real talents and earning fame was not that easy in the pre-internet era. People had to travel across the globe spreading a word about their inventions and extraordinary work. But with the advent of the internet and television, it is quite feasible to upload such masterpieces on the internet and attract the public attention. For example, it took a huge time to Pablo Picasso to become an eminent artist. Had he been living in the era of the internet and television, he would have achieved the same glory, much earlier in his life.

Furthermore, a recent famous television documentary about a boy who belonged to a remote tribe, is another example. That young mind, without any schooling, invented how to create electricity and then used it to add light to the gloomy nights of his fellow tribesmen. Indeed, his extraordinary artistic work would have gone unnoticed, had he been living in the historical times.

To conclude, despite a few drawbacks, I think that the television and social media are playing a great role in portraying the outstanding performance and talents of the people. It is, however, suggested that the authorities should devise effective television and internet checks to avoid their misuse.