With the increasing demand for energy, such as oil and gas, people start to look for their sources in remote and untouched places. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

As the demand for energy, including oil and gas, continues to rise, there is a growing trend to explore these sources in distant and unspoiled areas. From my perspective, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages because the increasing demand for energy globally will be met and energy security can be guaranteed.

First of all, the growing requirement from industrialised nations for resources will be satisfied. Drawing from various mainstream newspapers on the Internet, one can deduce that remote and untouched places usually hold vast quantities of untapped energy reserves, which leads to several opportunities for people to exploit them. As a result, this can bolster global energy supplies, and ultimately help to fulfil the increasing demand from industrialised countries. For example, regions like the Arctic and deepwater offshore locations are believed to contain vast amounts of hydrocarbons, so different countries can get access to these places and exploit resources there.

Secondly, extracting oil and gas in pristine areas can ensure energy security. In the near future, when people embark on exploring new geographic locations, it is plausible that they will diversify their energy sources. This mitigates threats of geopolitical tensions and instability in oil-producing regions. Also, this enables them to secure a more reliable supply. Consequently, energy security will be enhanced. For instance, in recent years, ExxonMobil, and other American companies have sought to explore oil reserves in the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge in Alaska, thus reducing their dependence on importing resources from other places where political chaos usually happens.

In conclusion, due to the rising desires for energy sources from industrialised nations worldwide, the governments begin seeking various alternatives in remote and pristine regions. The benefits of this trend outweigh the drawbacks due to the fact that growing needs globally will be satisfied and energy security can be ensured.