With the increasing demand for energy, such as oil and gas, people start to look for their sources in remote and untouched places. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In this concurrent society, the population explosion causes a dramatic growth in energy consumption, which stimulates humankind to discover unspoiled natural locations. From my point of view, the merits can not be overlapped with the demerits, and my essay aims to shed light on them.

On the one hand, the top-notch concrete reason is discovering untouched natural spaces to exploit oil and gas might bring myriad economic benefits. To be specific, it not only ensures energy supply but also creates job opportunities and develops infrastructure in remote areas. Due to the latent development potential, people could migrate to those places to start up or expand their businesses, in order to cater to the needs of the increasing population, including food, accommodations, and entertainment.

On the other hand, it is claimed that the exploitation of oil and gas damages the ecosystem. Namely, the drilling process, along with unexpected accidents in transportation can lead to soil and water contamination and the loss of habitat of many species. Moreover, exploiting fossil fuels also has a negative impact on local inhabitants’ work. For instance, the oil spill a few years ago harmed the natural environment of aquatic animals, which caused the death of thousands of fish, turtles, and other organisms. Therefore, fishermen can not earn a living from their jobs, and those individuals have to look for new positions.

All in all, I reiterate that there are a plethora of strong factors supporting the drawbacks of the oil and gas exploitation industry in meeting the demands of energy consumption. Meanwhile, the advantages can not be overshadowed either.