With the rise in popularity of many TV shows that use subcultural values as their focal points, many people are investing in these once counter-cultural features. Is it a positive or negative development?

Whether many people are embracing subcultural values due to the increasing popularity of TV shows focusing on this point is a shift that continues to divide opinion. Although I recognise that such counter-cultural features pose a challenge to cultural identity, I largely believe that this is a positive development.

The strongest argument concerns innovation and diversity. Some comedy programmes, for example, often incorporate up-to-date slang of young generations or international subculture such as anime from Japan, allowing people to broaden their horizons and foster creativity regardless of the generation gap. The gains are not only personal: by introducing and promoting multicultural values to citizens, the wealth will fund more budget for the channels to develop further, and this sound investment partly feeds into the country’s economy and cultural diversity.

This development, however, admittedly raises a fair concern about cultural distinctiveness. Importing those counter-cultural features is vulnerable due to less attention to traditional forms, and whether it is sustainable to pursue in the long run. Subcultural values may arguably dominate the market and gradually contribute to the loss of identity. However, this often overlooks the long-term benefits. Authorities can implement policies that contain appropriate conservation efforts and targeted schemes, so that traditional customs are protected without being diluted or eroded.

In conclusion, while this development presents certain risks, I firmly believe that its positive impact prevails. Only through a combination of cultural preservation and an open mind can traditional cultures be well-preserved while still imparting diverse subcultural values to move closer to innovation and diversity.