With traffic jams and pollution increasing every year in big cities, some people say that public transport should be free in big cities to help reduce these problems which are caused by cars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the growth of middle classes around the world, ownership of motor cars has become much more common, particularly for those who reside in large urban areas. It has been argued that free public transport should be provided in these metropolises as a method to curb the amount of polluted air and traffic congestion. This essay will explain why this approach should not be undertaken for cost and mobility reasons.

The reasons for not providing free public transport for urban residents are diverse. Firstly, there would be a significant cost for the government to pay for this, meaning they would have no option but to raise taxes for individuals rather than for industry which produces more pollution. Secondly, this would be unfair for those who need to use vehicles for more door-to-door travel, such as people who live far from train and bus stations or those who need to carry many things with them. Furthermore, if public transport is free, there would be overcrowding on trains and buses, meaning that people simply replace one type of inconvenience for another.

Looking at the argument from a cost perspective, even though there is an initial financial advantage for commuters with savings made on fuel, at some point down the track this would be lost, as municipal governments would have no choice but to raise taxes to pay for the construction, management and maintenance of public transport facilities. If the funds allocated to this were invested in how to make vehicles greener instead, such as with electric cars, the issue of air pollution would be addressed in a more cost-effective way. For example, the city of Taiyuan in China now has better air quality partly due to the investment they made in electric taxis and buses.To summarise, free public transport is not a viable option to reduce road blockages and improve air quality, as there are better cost efficient ways to do this and the mobility issues it can cause. Moving forward, cities around the world should adopt greener transport options whether they be public or personal to ensure better traffic flow with fewer impurities in the air.