With traffic jams and pollution increasing every year in big cities, some people say that public transport should be free in big cities to help reduce these problems which are caused by cars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that environmental pollution and traffic congestion are some of the key issues faced by the general public in today’s time and there are quite a few contradicting opinions stating that government transport should be made available free of cost in urban cities in order to curb this pressing problem. I personally agree with this statement to a large extent but do not rule out certain facts in its opposition.

There are a plethora of reasons favouring the free availability of public vehicles in metropolitan cities. The primary reason being that this will promote the use of government issued transport resulting in a majority of people opting for such vehicles. This, in turn, will reduce the use of cars which emit harmful gasses and furthermore, will automatically lower the pollution levels in our environment. For instance, commuting by the way of walking and through bicycles is a commonly opted for practice in Japan justifying the minute levels of environmental problems in such countries.

Another reason worth mentioning is that the lowered usage of personal vehicles will reduce the vehicle density on roads drastically. This would play a majorly beneficial role in combating the pressing issue of traffic congestion in countries such as ours where stagnation on roads is considered to be one of the most crucial issues.

However, upon tending to the opposite view, it can be agreed that even after burdening such heavy finances upon the city administration, it will not reduce the preference of cars over public vehicles as the comfort and privacy of private vehicles is a factor the general public greatly seeks.

To conclude, I certainly agree that there is a flip side to every notion, however, my perspective lies in the opinion that the availability of free public transport will greatly aid in the advancement of our nation in terms of environmental issues as the advantages clearly outweigh the drawbacks.