With traffic jams and pollution increasing every year in big cities, some people say that public transport should be free in big cities to help reduce these problems which are caused by cars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With increasing traffic congestion and pollution each year in the large metropolitan cities, some argue that alternative means of transport should be free of cost in order to help counteract with these problems that are primarily caused by cars. From my perspective, I firmly agree with this statement and this essay will further explain why I believe this.

To begin with, it is true that owing private cars is convenient due to the accessibility of keeping your car close to you. You can travel anywhere, anytime and is a lot less time-consuming than using public transport. Additionally, owning cars is often seen as a luxury showcasing standards amongst wealthy people. This instant gratification of owning and flexibility of commuting with your own car drives millions to buy excessive amounts than required, ultimately increasing the number of vehicles on road.

On the other hand, this increase results to increase traffic jams and pollution in big cities. For instance, research shows that the chemical irritants, gases and fumes released from car exhaust, such as methane, carbon dioxide and nitrous oxide gases are very detrimental to human health and increase the risk of developing respiratory conditions such as chronic obstructive pulmonary disease. Alongside to pollution, it is quite evident, the more number of cars on road, the harder to travel due to increase in traffic jams, deterring communities to travel faster.

Thus, in my opinion, alternative forms of public transport such as using trains, trams and buses which occupies more number of people than a single vehicle should be promoted amongst local communities with stricter laws on owning private cars through the government should be implemented.