Working from home is a popular way for professionals to work these days because it is convenient. What are the benefits and drawbacks of this trend?

In today’s era, many companies are offering employees to work from home. This mode is to be considered as trending among workers to perform their duties on daily basis, majorly because of the convenience it offers. However, this working style has some advantages and disadvantages, and this essay intend to discuss both.

To begin with, working from your comfort space has many merits. A significant benefit would be time saving from all the commute that happens, to and fro from office to home. For instance, my work functions on a hybrid – mode style which requires working from office once a week. In this

week, approximately 4 hours are being spent on travelling which could have been utilised on some productive activity. However, the rest three weeks are to work from home which gives me ample time to do something useful rather than wasting it. Secondly, the comfort and convenience it brings is undeniable. If a person is on a long vacation and an urgent work comes up, which company requires the person to deliver it soon, one can work at anytime from anywhere, and meanwhile the task gets done too.

On the other hand, this working style has drawbacks too. While it is easier and convenient to work from home, the team bonding which is essential for teamwork gets missed out. The inclusive environment one expects while joining corporate is not there anymore. Additionally, the memories a team create while working and collaborating with each other cannot be created in this working mode. For example, my first job was purely based on work from home and the communication and work culture i needed and expected to help me grow was unavailable.

To conclude, although working from home is popular and easier however, the cons like lack of team building cannot be overlooked.