write a research-based essay on the following topic: Research a current innovation in the field of technology, medicine, or science. Explain why this innovation is important or significant.

In recent years, augmented reality (AR) has emerged as a significant innovation in technology. This essay explores the importance of AR in medicine, focusing on its applications in medical education and patient care.

One of the most significant applications of AR in medicine is in medical education, providing students and lecturers with a new approach to medical training. The Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) reports that the United States could see an estimated shortage of 124000 physicians by 2034. Therefore, with AR, students can practice with virtual objects in 3D Completely similar to the human body and organs, improving their understanding of medical knowledge. Several AR systems have already been developed specifically for anatomy education such as Blum et al describe the magic mirror (‘Miracle’) which is an AR system that can be used for undergraduate anatomy education. By providing a hands-on experience, AR technology helps improve knowledge retention, skill acquisition, and train more highly qualified doctors.

Another important aspect of AR applications in medicine is more effective patient care with healthcare services. For instance, AR technology allows patients to be proactive in their self-care by viewing AR-based metrics of their bodily activities. Moreover, the patient can adjust his or her movements to restore physical strength. “Know My Heart” and “Know My Beat” are two of the leading patient self-care apps specifically designed to use AR technology. Additionally, hospitals can use AR-based patient data to plan appropriate treatments, resulting in better patient outcomes.

In conclusion, augmented reality technology plays a crucial role in the field of medicine by medical education and patient care. AR has consistently demonstrated its potential to be a cutting-edge technology, both inside and outside of hospitals, making the healthcare industry more efficient and delivering a good patient experience.