Write about the following topic. It has been noted that many people who had a big impact on the world gave themselves completely to their work and did not bother with the idea of “work-life balance”. To what extent should people try to have a good work-life balance? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Most notable people are most likely preferred to spend their time working and do not pay attention to other aspects of life. In my opinion, having a balance between career and private life is important because it will maintain good mental health and create a harmonious family.

Employees who spend too much time working will have a strong possibility to have a mental health problem. To illustrate, a worker who does their job more than eight hours per day tends to have less resting time. Moreover, the professional environment is a high-pressure surrounding because the employees have to meet the targets. Due to the limited time to rest and the high demand in the workplace, individuals will be overwhelmed or experience burnout. Additionally, suppose this condition occurs for a long time, they might have a mental health problem such as anxiety disorder or even depression.

Furthermore, solely focusing on professional life can reduce the amount of quality time spent with family. For instance, parents who are workaholics often allocate minimal time for their children. Consequently, they will be unaware of their children’s academic progress or social interaction, leading to their children feeling neglected. When this circumstance occurs, there will be a misunderstanding between the parents and their children, which leads to a family conflict. As a result, their relationship will no longer be harmonious.

In conclusion, having a balance between career and personal life is crucial not only to maintaining mental health but also a strong family bond. Therefore, I firmly believe that people should have an occupational wellness balance.