Write about the following topic. Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

While more and more companies believe that their workers should wear more professional clothes to make them look smart, others believe that this action is unnecessary and quality of work is more important than workers’ appearance. This essay will try to elaborate both proponents’ point of view and offer my opinion on this matter.

On the one hand, the proponents of smart looks may argue that dressing smartly can increase the employees’ spirit and productivity. With formal clothes, they can be aware that they are in the professional fields and should not slack off. This action may also increase the companies’ images and impress their partners.

On the other hand, requiring employees to wear formal clothes all the time can be seen as limitation of their freedom to express themself. The opponents of the previous argument believe that quality of work is more important than their outfit. Instead of forcing the employees to have a uniform look, the businesses should make sure that their workers have comfortable workplace. As a result, the employees will feel more appreciated and put more effort to increase their job performances. This action can lead to long-term benefits for the company.

Overall, i personally believe that companies should have some dress code in order to make sure that their workers have a professional environment. However, they should consider their workers’ comfort as well. The companies should not put too much burden for the workers in order to make them work productively. By using that strategies, the organisations can maintain their professional image as well as workers’ productivity in order to achieve maximal profits.