Write about the following topic. Some people argue that fashion items cost too much money. Others say that this is acceptable because fashion is an important part of life. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Fashion items can be classified into various products, containing accessories, clothes, foot wear and other items that are used as a fashion statement. Some people would have different opinions than others about fashion. For example, ways to dress up (formally/non-formally) and for different reasons, such as comfort and self-confidence. Though some people do think of fashion as something that’s not worth thinking over.

Fashion may cost a lot at times, but it solely depends on how you view what fashion is. Luxury brands and expensive fabrics take much of the society’s view on fashion as something luxurious and expensive and some think of fashion as combinations of clothes to show good contrast between fabrics and colors. Value on fabric can be elevated from how developed it is from methods of sewing, stitching, and other methods of developing fabric as a piece of clothing. Branding on clothes also takes a huge part of increasing clothing values just by making them a societal norm. For example, the brand named Supreme had its peak in 2020 with hoodies that could also be found in other brands with same fabric and quality, but with a more affordable price. The fabric that could be found in luxury clothing may also not affect the price, but the amount of fabric covering the body may also take part in a clothing’s value. Revealing clothes are also viewed as a trend nowadays and even though they have less fabric, they also cost just as much.

Fashion as an important part of life is an acceptable norm, because clothing is needed primarily as a way to keep our body warm and comfortable. While its primary use is to cover body parts and keep them protected, dressing up with trendy clothes is also something that can be thought over. Fashion clothes may also boost social values, for example having the current trendy clothes could affect people’s opinion on yourself and likewise if you’re wearing cheap and unknown brands.

My opinion is that fashion is an important part of society. Fashion helps people gain confidence and may even grow passion to create fashion themselves. Though values in branded clothing are unrealistic, alternatives do exist and they are way more affordable. In conclusion, yes. Fashion is important but it’s way too expensive but for the wrong reasons and fashion could be found in everything and not just branded clothes.