Write about the following topic: All children should study a foreign language in school, starting in the earliest grades. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Starting in earliest grades, all children should learn a foreign language in school. While learning a new language is beneficial, it should not be done too soon. This essay will show on why I disagree that children should be sent to school to learn a different language in their earliest grades.

Early childhood is very critical for the development of children. During this time, the children’s brains develop rapidly and they are very prone to experiencing and familiarizing everything to aid their experiences and learnings. One of the things they start learning is their mother tongue, by the help of their parents guiding them, children would be able to learn and speak the language they grew up.

Some said that children should learn new language in their earliest years but I beg to differ. Learning a new language should not be done too soon since they are still starting to learn their mother tongue and how to communicate with it. Even in prime schools, the language used in their modules or books is mother tongue. This system is made so that the parents can still assist their children in doing paper activities or assignments.

For me, learning a foreign language in earliest years should only be introduced when there is a specific need like for example, one of the parents is a foreign national. If not, then there should be no problem in introducing a new language in adolescent years. But for children, the language that is used to bring them up should be mastered first and then after that, new language can be introduced.

In conclusion, letting a child to learn a new language should be delayed up until only when the child have mastered his/her mother tongue so that he/she could learn a new language while still can be able to communicate using his/her mother tongue without the difficulty of doing both.