Write about the following topic: As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, newspapers are seen as obsolete compared to internet. While some people argue that it is not true, I believe that newspapers are no longer popular.

Firstly, a main argument is that internet is over flowing with resources compared to newspapers. Indeed, since the 2000’s, the internet has sharply developed and therefore offers a large amount of informations whereas newpapers are more limited. Futhermore, newspapers have fewer constraints such as a price, facts are only on a period and it is harder to find informations on a specific topic. For instance, learning more about a country that does not interests media will be complicated in newspapers.

Nonetheless, newspapers are still steadily used by elderly people. For older generations, reading newspapers has become an habit deeply rooted in their routine. People are very attached to it. What’s more is that newspapers comes from another era, hence could be seen as a tradition that needs to be conserved likewise an old music. According to a report, most of young people keep on reading newspapers as a souvenir from their grandparents. Hence, newpapers are still relevant today for older generations and nostalgic people.

As a conclusion, I agree to say internet is more popular than newspapers because it is much more complete. However even if newpapers are seen as old, there are loved by older generations and by nostalgic people.