Write about the following topic: As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is argued that people are moving from newspapers to the internet because of its popularity. This essay completely agrees with this statement because the news is easily accessible through the internet nowadays and going paperless helps to save the environment and money.

On the one hand, people can easily access the internet through electronic devices such as smartphones and tablets. On the other hand, mobile network companies have been offering their customers unlimited data plans at low cost. Therefore, the internet is readily available at the fingertips of the readers. Since many publishing companies, such as The Island and The Times run news websites, the public prefers the web version of news over the printed copies as they choose convenience over convention.

Manufacturing papers requires lots of trees to cut. Deforestation on a mass scale to produce papers impacts both local and global ecosystems, and the planet will not be sustained in the long run. UNESCO and other environmental organizations have been educating people on this for decades, and newspapers are now becoming less popular among the public. Moreover, readers can get e-newspapers on their smartphones free of charge. This saves people a significant amount of money every week. For instance, in 2022, over one million people have subscribed to the web version of The Times magazine. However, only 50,000 paper copies of this magazine have been sold in the same year.

In conclusion, I believe that the sale of printed forms of news is being reduced drastically not only because readers would simply surf the internet looking for news but also because they could save money.