Write about the following topic. The internet has vastly increased our access to information. To what extent do you think this is a good thing? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

In the modern world, there is disagreement among individuals about internet, is it a good thing or not? While a majority of job opportunities and simplified communication seem to be benefits, online scammers could be a downside.

Nowadays, the internet gives us unlimited information, but there are several downsides that most individuals can struggle with. To start with, there is a majority of online scammers on the internet. For instance, they can sell popular clothing brands on marketplaces, like Gucci or Prada, at a high price, but actually it would not be an original one; that’s why most customers could be scammed by cheaters, but this could be prevented if people were functionally literate. Secondly, most children could have full access to information from internet, which can influence their behaviour in a negative way, they can watch violent videos or others with age restrictions. To solve this issue, parents could set parental controls on child’s phone.

On the other side, there are several upsides that outweigh the listed drawbacks. Firstly, internet opens up a majority of job opportunities; people can work online from their house, without going anywhere. For example, there are some vacancies with online jobs such as copywriter, graphic designer, content manager and others. Another reason is online education; individuals can study with a huge source of knowledge on different websites or on social media, where they can get a good education. Pursuing this further, the web simplifies our communication, in the era of social media such as WhatsApp, Telegram, Instagram and TikTok, individuals can communicate with their friends or relatives just by adding them to contacts and starting a call, either regular or video, or just texting messages. One last reason: internet users might broaden their horizons by providing unlimited access to information and knowledge. For instance, people can explore new cultures, traditions, and perspectives through online sources such as documentaries, articles, and social media platforms.

In conclusion, the internet seems to be a subject of dispute. It brings several upsides such as online job opportunities and efficient communication. On the other side, the risk of fraud is a main con.