Write about the following topic: In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In some countries, more house owner are becoming interested in the history of the house or building they live in. Based on a few cases that the writer’s have witnessed in real life, there are some factors which made house owners wanted to know the history of the house they live in. The first one is the house owners just wanted to appreciate the historic value of the building for themselves, the second one is the house owners wanted to know the historic value of the place so they can capitalize it for their own benefit, and the third one is they are hoping that the house they live in doesn’t have a bad reputation or a bad history in the past

The first in is when the house owner just wanted to appreciate the historic value of the house they live in, is mostly from an inherited house from a long lineage of family household. The house is already being passed through generations, and the family members try to keep it as orignal as possible, so they can appreciate what their great great great grandparents did in the past. Usually, it is the house of the aristocrats which contains so much information about the past through symbols, signs, old furniture, specific architecture desigin of an era, or valuable metal such as gold and silver with specific symbol or year it was made.

The second one which the owner want to capitalize the historic value of the house. The people with this mindset is usually a wealthy merchant or enterpreneur who has the money to buy their house with rich history behind it and use it for restaurant, café place, or tourist attraction so it has a special historical touch and increase the experience of visiting the place for the consumers. The other example of this case is family members who inherited the house and wanted to make the house beneficial for the family by turning it into business place such as restaurant, café or tourist attraction using the historical merits that the house has. This type of house owners often live in a separate part of the house so they also have their own privacy. They usually ask locals or doing some research from the internet or library to get the information about the house’s historical value.

The third one is the most uncommon one. The owner just want to make sure that the house they live in is not haunted or have a bad history behind it. They just wanna live in peace without being worried about potential paranormal activies disturbing their daily life. Sometimes they are influenced by the horror movies which has a haunted house as the main story. Because of this they do the research sometimes through abnormal method such as asking for a religious figure who can see ghosts or asking through the locals about the bad things they see when they passed in front of the house.