Write about the following topic: In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem? You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The world has seen significant development in the agriculture sector with multiple new technologies and techniques invented. However, this is not being reflected in the amount of people that remain hungry at the end of the day. This is mainly due to the wealth disparities among different populations and the difficulty in access to these new crops. The number of hungry persons at the end of a day can be reduced by making these agricultural goods accessible to everyone around the world.

When a new technology is used to cultivate the vegetables, grains, etc, the price of it also increases with it. Therefore, it becomes something that can be easily availed by the creamy layer on top of the population and becomes highly inaccessible to the lower classes. This wealth inequality leads to unequal distribution of food around the world. For example, a recent study shows that households with a lower income usually have one or more deficiencies. This is due to the lack of nutrients in their diet.

Inaccessibility to most varieties of foods is another issue that aids the unequal consumption of food. Usually, genetically modified crops such as seedless grapes are sold in supermarkets and not in local shops. Individuals with a lower household income tend to refrain from going to the supermarkets to avoid any extra spendings and hence high quality products become unavailable to them.

To resolve this, high quality and cheap food should become accessible to everyone so that everyone around the world can get all their required nutrients and live a healthy lifestyle. This can be achieved by the government introducing different schemes to subsidize the costs of these products. Also, by raising awareness about the importance of food.

In conclusion, the world still goes hungry due to the high cost and inaccessibility of good quality food. This can be resolved by awareness-spreading programs and certain schemes by the government.