Write about the following topic: Some high school students work part-time in addition to going to school. What are the advantages and disadvantages of high school students having part-time jobs? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

While attending the secondary education, some scholars opt for being a part-time employee beside studies. Early age employment can be fruitful for financial knowledge and workplace experiences. However, this may also lead to some mental stress because of managing their personal & professional life alongwith some lack of knowledge about school courses.

Some of the most common advantage of being employed during high-schooling is learning how to manage their expenses. Majority of the employed pupils use their own earned money for managing the spendings of their daily life such as the stationery, books, some snacks and clothes. This way, they learn about the budget and how to use money. Being employed during school years not only help them in educational financial education but also provide the practical experience of worklife. They interact with different kinds of people while handling different kinds of tasks. And they try to adapt their social and cognitive behaviours based on the community they are working in. As a result, when they join their professional field, they have already developed skills required to work with people. To illustrate, a recent research conducted about students who are employed versus unemployed, it was found that population being working is more productive in aspects of workforce.

Part time

While vocational learning, unregular jobs during university years leads to many benefits, yet its drawbacks cannot be neglected. Working while learning at school also requires the balance between the personal and professional lives. Some people feel it challenging due to number of tasks we require to complete in both environments. For example, courses at learning community consists of numerous projects, assignments, presentations and exams. Similarly, youngsters may need to fulfil the condition of being on job for particular hours of the day. This may cause the lack of concentration on their academic subjects. Because of this, some people could also select either working or studying. An article about high school learning reveals that majority of the illiterate populace dropped schooling because they found maintaining a balance between worklife and personal life challenging. By doing that, they may lack the knowledge which is commonly used in our daily life.

In conclusion, although pursuits such as occupations while gaining knowledge in school leads to increase financial knowledge along with providing work experience to children, yet it can cause a detrimental affect on their mental health because of work-life balance and they may choose to not to study because of work.