Write about the following topics. Some people say that tourism has many negative effects on the countries that people travel to. How true is this statement? What can tourists do to reduce the harmful effects of tourism on local cultures and environments? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience.

Nowadays, tourism is very popular in many countries. Especially during the holidays, people travel a lot, whether domestically or internationally. However, there are many opinions that traveling a lot will have negative effects on culture and the environment. In my opinion, this is not entirely true because after those negative effects, there are also positive effects.

Tourism brings many benefits to the local economy and culture, but also poses negative impacts on the environment. First of all, tourism helps increase income for local people through services and products provided to tourists. Besides, tourism is a bridge that helps people from different cultures have the opportunity to exchange, learn and understand each other. Tourists also have the opportunity to experience and appreciate the cultural values and customs of the places they visit.

However, tourism also has a negative impact on a major problem: environmental pollution. Many tourists lack awareness of environmental protection, causing waste and damaging natural landscapes. To minimize negative impacts, solutions are needed such as raising tourists’ awareness of environmental protection and local culture, placing trash bins at tourist attractions, limiting the number of visitors during peak seasons and protecting cultural products.

In short, tourism will bring benefits if there are proper management measures and environmental protection awareness of each person.