Write an essay of 350 words on the following topic: Technological development leads to a lot of environmental issues. Some people think a simple lifestyle can preserve the environment, while others argue that technology itself can solve it. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

People have different perspectives regarding the impacts of the advancements of technology on the natural world. As far as I am concerned, I believe that while living a simple life would be just fine, it is undeniable that it is capable of averting the issues and even somewhat enhancing them.

First of all, we need to define a simple life, it refers to a minimalistic lifestyle without too much dependence on technology to survive and leave as little impact on earth as possible. On the one hand, there are several plus points of a lifestyle without such sophisticated tools. Firstly, a world devoid of the needs to develop technology can be environmentally friendly. Since it takes a lot of attempts to successfully make a new invention, not only does it do harm to the environment when they fail, but it also comes at a huge cost to the developers themselves, which is not so advantageous. Moreover, people who live with a simple lifestyle do not use as much technology, or electric appliance, which helps preserve energy, and significantly cut down on the greenhouse gases emission. For example, the Amish people, who completely isolate themselves from the outside world, live entirely independent of technology and only base on agriculture and domestic trading to survive.

On the other hand, technology, as they become more sophisticated, has been granted the ability to alleviate the damage on the environment that it caused when being developed. By becoming cleaner, more efficient, multifunctional, more affordable and accessible, it has gain popularity among people, encouraging them to use these appliances for the sake of a greener environment. A typical example of this is the renewable energy, such as solar, wind, and tidal energy, which makes use of natural forces to convert them into electricity without creating any emission or waste. Although it was just invented not so long ago, a significant proportion of electricity is being generated by this incredible device.

In my opinion, I believe that it is still better to invest more in technology development than live a simple life, because technology, although harms the environment during its time of being developed, it benefits our lives and the environment in the long run, while living with a minimalistic lifestyle can only mitigate this problem by a small scale and is very inconsistent, and hard to adapt.

In conclusion, people should put more faith in technology as its ability to affect the environment on such a large scale can be very useful in combating environmental problems. While, lifestyle improvements are not able to produce the same results but it should still have a supporting role in the fight against environmental problems.