write an essay which provides both short and long term solutions to an environmental problem and take the costs into consideration. Refer to a specific case study in your essay

Environmental issues are always a painful problem in our society, attracting much attention from people. Especially the plastic pollution which poses significant challenges to Vietnam’s coastal areas, particularly in Vung Tau – a popular tourist destination. According to a statistical report, this phenomenon is caused by the thriving tourism industry and fishing activities, leading to over 400 tons of household waste each day. This pollution is contributing to the damage of the marine ecosystem, affecting fisheries as impacting on tourism’s revenue. This report is going to point out both short term and long term solutions to solve this issue and also give out financial evaluation of each of them.

First of all, there is one temporary solution for this issue. The government can organize a monthly beach clean up campaign with the participation of students, volunteers, the citizens or the local authorities. They can collect plastic debris along coastlines, under the sea and actively propagate others to keep the environment clean. As a result, this solution will immediately reduce visible pollution, increase public engagement and awareness. The cost for this solution is just zero cost, which is suitable for a short-term solution.

Secondly, permanent solutions are also taken into consideration about their effectiveness and costs. The first recommendation is developing waste infrastructure management in investing in advanced waste sorting, recycling facilities, and proper landfill management. It will help to reduce overall waste leakage into the environment and also create more green jobs for the environment and for citizens. The expense for this solution may cost much more than the temporary one and it also requires long-term investment from the capital. The second recommendation is launching education and community engagement programs when incorporating environmental educations in schools for students and campaigns for the tourists. Thus, it will cultivate a culture of environmental responsibility over time with a moderate budget, mainly involving training and media for campaigns.

In summary, plastic pollution is always a hot problem that needs to be dealt with as soon as possible. Therefore, both short and long term solutions should be adapted early to minimize the negative impacts on the environment, specially the marine.