WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

One of the perks of living in the 21st century is the advancement in technology such as the invention of mobile phones and the internet. Most people appreciate how it has completely transformed our lives by making communication easy, while some have a counter-opposite opinion. In my view, I support the former; in this essay, I will discuss how it has made borders disappear, although it comes with a few drawbacks.

The major benefit of applications such as WhatsApp, Skype, and Google Meet is that communication across borders happens in real time within seconds. This is helpful for many purposes; for example, soldiers who are away fighting for their country could still remain connected to their families even miles away. Furthermore, it has helped many cultures evolve. People across the globe can learn about the traditions and heritage of a particular place. This helps eliminate any prejudice and strengthens platonic relationships between nations.

However, there are various cons that come with being on the phone all the time. The face-to-face interaction has lost its value. Especially the young generation prefers screen time rather than having a conversation with the person sitting next to them. Additionally, spreading hate and fake news is very easy. Everyone has access and the authority to put out their word, which can take the form of verbal abuse. This can have lasting impacts. For example, there is an increasing rate of suicide because of cyberbullying. Nevertheless, its side effects can be made minuscule with conscious usage.

In conclusion, on one hand, technology is believed to close communication gaps for many, while on the other hand, some people believe it has limited real human interaction. In this essay, I discussed some of the many positives that the internet brings, which definitely outweigh its demerits. In my personal view, it has made lives easier and better for everyone, if used in moderation.