WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

We sometimes tend to think we, the human race, is the only thing that truly matters in this world, thereby assuming the sole purpose of science and technology should be to improve our standards of living. However, I personally disagree with this opinion, because animals and nature are also important parts of this world. The follwing essay will demonstrate two reasons why science should also improve the living conditions of animals and nature.

Firstly humans are not the only creatures on this planet, and it also belongs to other animals. If science improved our lives by destroying other animals’ habitats, it wouldn’t be just and karma will punish us right away. For example, in some rural places in India, wild elephants went into the villages, destroying crops and killing farmers along the way. The reason is reported, and it is because the government expanded the farm lands deep into their habitats. So, who is really in the wrong here?

Moreover, nature should also be taken care of as it is important for our ecosystem. It is inconsiderate of us to pollute the land we are living, and the water we are drinking by constructing too many factories. A recent study reported that most rivers and air quality in third world countries reached above the high pollution level, caused by toxic chemical waste from our industries due to poor waste management. It is depressing to see how our mother nature is being intoxicated by our behaviours.

In conclusion, science should aim to improve not only our lives but also living conditions of wild animals. Furthermore, it is crucial not to damage the nature in the process of improving our society. If anyone says humans are the most important creatures in this world, they are just being selfish and cruel to both animals and the nature.