Writing task 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In many countries around the world, rural residents are moving to cities, Consequently, the population in the countryside decreases. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? List the reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from Your knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The population in cities has been rapidly increasing because people living in country sides and rural area are making the decision to move away looking for a better life. I think this has a negative impact on rural development since it causes overpopulation and regression to those parts of the country.

To commence, this decision leads to overpopulation in bigger cities which is the root cause to an array of problems. The most prominent one is the dramatic decline of employment rates since overpopulation leads to an increase in the workers supply which in return lower wages and increase competition over job vacancies, making it hard to find suitable jobs with satisfactory income. When my cousin moved to Cairo, he struggled to find a job even with all of his qualifications which included a PHD. Moreover, it leads pollution; cities have been struggling already with the raising percentages of pollution, whether it is air pollution from all the traffic or water pollution from the amount of waste discarded in the oceans and seas.

Furthermore, the abandoning of rural areas leads to further regression which is something that these cities have been struggling with, and with population rates declining, it signs off its inevitable downfall. These cities have been struggling in getting the attention of local and central governments for funding and supporting of local projects. For instance, my hometown had been one of the top performing governorates in the educational sector but with more people moving away, less and less attention is given to it leading to its drawback making it from the worst ten. Additionally, foreign or national investment is non-existent in these areas because the market is way more attractive in cities which cause the job opportunities to hit an all time low.